Things to do - general

The Puglia or Apulia, the heel of this boot so characteristic, a corner little exploited by tourism and that keeps for its visitors a rich repertoire of landscapes, music and architecture. It is a peninsula bathed by two seas, the Ionian Sea and the Adriatic, a region that is divided into 6 provinces: Foggia, Barletta-Andria-Trani, Brindisi, Lecce (and Salento), Taranto and Bari, its capital.

Languages spokenItalian
Currency usedEuro
Area (km2)19540.9 kmĀ²

Culture and history info

The peace of its landscapes and the tranquility of its people endow the region with a characteristic atmosphere, a life that passes slowly, that stops at every moment to appreciate the beauty of the moment, of that intense sun that slows down a unique culture, and that bathes its most precious treasures, from the megaliths and prehistoric menhirs, to the imposing fortresses of Otranto or Gallipoli, passing through the immense Baroque churches such as the Basilica of Santa Croce in Lecce, without forgetting the Trulli of Alberobello, patrimony of the Humanity of UNESCO.

Baroque architecture is undoubtedly one of the strengths of Puglia, which adorns the facades of Lecce, Martina Franca, Locorotondo and Ostuni. Strolling through the streets of these cities, many sculpted faces and diverse decorations observe us from the buildings, witness another time and that welcome their visitors and admirers. Medieval castles are another treasure of the region. We can find them in many cities due to the domination of Frederick II during the thirteenth century. The most famous is Castel del Monte, which stands on top of a hill as a symbol of its power in the Middle Ages.

Unfortunately there are no accommodations at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no tour offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no car rental offers at this location at the moment.